Archive for September 7, 2009

Design in Bulgaria

As a design and merchandising major, I tend to use my knowledge of the different design styles I see (in art, fashion, architecture, interior design) as a lens through which I can gain some insight into different people and cultures. In all my studies of European design and Art History, Bulgaria never came up, so I really wasn’t sure what to expect. After a few days spent traveling around the country, and viewing a plethora of historical art and artifacts, as well as seeing the modern styles on the streets of Sofia, I’ve realized Bulgaria has a lot to offer to anyone who values design.

The historical aesthetics of Bulgarian design seem to be quite diverse. Ancient Thracian designs that draw heavily on classical influence and culture, Byzantine gold and mosaics, medieval design rich with religious symbolism and gothic details, can all be seen in the National History Museum here in Sofia, (which I highly recommend for anyone interested in viewing one of the most amazing ancient jewelry collections I’ve seen). Traditional folk art consists heavily of woodcarving, which is ornate, and featured on many ceilings around the country, so if you ever visit, be sure to look up frequently! Bright colors, geometric patterns, and a lot of interior wall painting help to make up this style as well. 

As for street style, Bulgarians definitely adhere to the dress code for much of Eastern Europe, a lot tight clothing, a lot of skin showing, and a lot of serious colors (dark blues and blacks seem to be favorites). What is most interesting to me about modern design in the city of Sofia in particular however, is the graffiti. It’s all over the place, and much of it seems to have a very political aim. It ranges from the basic graffiti styles seen in signatures on walls in the states, to a more graphic, two dimensional cartoon style, and there are anarchy symbols as well as other, less blog-friendly political statements, spread throughout the city. I find the prevalence of graffiti as a means of artistic expression in Sofia very interesting, and can’t wait to find out if this trend has spread to other Bulgarian cities as well. One of the Bulgarian students on the trip has informed me that in a few days we will be visiting a museum with lots of historic costume to explore, which I personally cannot wait for. 

But today, its off to the University of Sofia, and as we all know that in the States college life has a dress code all its own, I’m really excited to see what Bulgarians are wearing on campus!