Finally Better

I am finally better after about 36 hours of being sick from something I ate. Turns out it was a shared experience among some of the others in the group. It really scared me because I have a pretty strong stomach. I’m suspicious of the food at Leipzig.

My sickness left me bedridden for the most part. It prevented me from going to the 2nd largest monastery in Bulgaria and go-karting in Plovdiv, but I managed to muster the strength to enjoy a game of bowling. I haven’t bowled in years and it was so much fun.

We really covered a lot of ground during our 12-day stay in Bulgaria. We’ve been to many of the historic sites and traveled to several cities. Although I was there for only a few hours, I really enjoyed the Veliko Tarnovo. The ruins of the castle are amazing, not to mention the view from the higher points. The city itself still maintained its old, historical architecture.

I was excited about seeing the Thracian tombs the most but was a bit disappointed. I expected to see ornate tombs, treasures, and other archeologist findings. I will admit that I didn’t go into the tomb that seemed to be the most interesting since it had an expensive entrance fee. The imitation tomb was good, but I’m sure the original would have been amazing.

Leave a comment